Home  /  Buyer guides  /  Rooftop terrace townhomes

Buyer guide · updated October 14, 2026

Townhomes with rooftop terraces in Charlotte.

Every new or recent townhome community in Charlotte with a private rooftop terrace that we could find, on one table: 11 with homes for sale right now, from $399,000 to $865,000, with terrace size, whether it sees the skyline, the garage and the HOA. Including the ones that compete with ours.

Rooftop terrace at 608 E 16th Street with the Uptown Charlotte skyline

The market

What is for sale, and what it costs.

Sorted by price; click a column to re-sort. Prices and status come from the public listing or the builder's site on the date above. They change, so confirm with the listing before you drive over. Where a listing does not state a figure, the cell says so rather than guessing.

CommunityPriceSq ftBedsTerraceSkyline viewGarageHOA / moStatus
Iron Creek (Toll Brothers)North End, 1420 Hamilton St$399,000 to $434,0001,610 to 1,6453Standard; size not statedYes, per builder2-carNot listedFor sale
Equinox (Empire Homes)Camp North End, 1623 Polk St$419,900 to $449,9001,567 to 1,7863Standard; size not statedSome homes (a resale says 'slight view')1- or 2-car tandem$280For sale
Anderson Street Townhomes (D.R. Horton)NoDa, Hammers Ln$439,000 to $474,0001,349 to 1,5003 to 4Optional upgradeNot stated2-carNot listedFor sale
Caswell (Empire Homes)NoDa, 1221 E 34th St$449,9001,451 to 1,5832On the four-story plans; size not statedNot stated2-car tandem$275For sale
North End Terraces (Hopper Communities)North End, N Graham St$449,900 to $649,9001,729 to 2,4743 to 4Optional on current plans; TrexCity views, per builder2-car with EVNot listedFor sale
Chambray at LoSo (Toll Brothers)Lower South End, Blairhill Rd$494,000 to $539,0001,610 to 2,0703 to 4Standard; size not statedCity views, per builder2-car rear-loadNot listedFor sale
562 West End Dr (West End Towns)Seversville, built 2022$499,9001,6422Private; size not statedYes, per listing2-carNot listedFor sale
223 Uptown West Dr (Uptown West Terraces)Wesley Heights, built 2019$499,9991,4002'Oversized'; size not statedYes, per listing2 spaces with EVNot listedFor sale
East 16th Street Townhomes (Blue Arrow) OursOptimist Park, 604 to 616 E 16th St$591,000 to $768,0001,337 to 1,7302400-plus sf, turf; 500-plus at 604Yes, every home2-car tandem; side by side at 604$275For sale
12119 Brooklyn Ave (Central Point, Pulte)Elizabeth edge, built 2022$679,9991,9693Private, four-story; size not statedYes, per listing2-car tandem$248For sale
Park Rose (Dickens Mitchener)Elizabeth, Weddington Ave$792,000 to $865,0002,033 to 2,0473400-plus sf, per builderNot stated (views of Elizabeth)2-car side by side$250For sale
Sky Terrace TownsFreeMoreWest, built 2020 to 2021Not listed1,400 to 1,8402 to 3571 to 596 sfYes, per communityYesNot listedNo listing found
Skyline Townes, 513 Strong Ave (Copper Builders)Belmont, built 2023$649,0001,7203About 600 sfYes, per listing2-car side by side with EV$210Off market since Sep 2026

Sources: each community name links to its listing or builder page. "Skyline view" reports what the listing states; "Some homes" means it varies by unit. HOA dues are the listed monthly figure; new communities often raise dues after the builder hands the association to owners.

How to read it

Three things the table shows.

The rooftop is no longer rare; the view is. Toll Brothers and Empire Homes now include a terrace on their new townhomes north of Uptown, and Hopper and D.R. Horton offer one as an option, which is why the table starts in the high $300s. Read the skyline column closely. "City views, per builder" and "slight view of Uptown" on a resale are not the same thing as Uptown filling the frame. Ask for a photo taken from the roof.

Terrace size is rarely published. Most listings say "rooftop terrace" and stop. The ones that give a number sit between 400 and 600 square feet: Park Rose, Skyline Townes, Sky Terrace and ours. Where the terrace is an optional upgrade, ask what it costs and what the standard roof is instead. Ask for the square footage; it is on the plans.

Where we sit, honestly. East 16th Street is two bedrooms, not three, and at $591,000 to $768,000 it costs more than the Camp North End and west-side product and less than Elizabeth. There are cheaper two-bedroom rooftop townhomes with a skyline claim in the table, both west of Uptown and both older builds. What you are paying for at 16th Street is a 2025 to 2026 build with its warranty, a published terrace size with Uptown on one side and the greenway's green space on the other, an attached two-car garage, and Optimist Hall and the Parkwood light-rail station on foot. If you need the third bedroom, Iron Creek, Equinox, Anderson Street and Chambray are the rooftop options to look at first. The table is here so you can weigh all of that yourself.

Before you buy any of them

Questions to ask about a rooftop terrace.

What is under the deck? A walkable roof is a membrane roof with a surface on top. Ask what membrane, how the surface (pavers, turf, composite) is held off it, and whether the roof was designed for the live load of people, furniture and planters.

Where does the water go? Drains, scuppers and the slope toward them. A terrace that ponds is a terrace that leaks. Stand on it after rain if you can.

Who owns the problem? Read the declaration. Membrane and structure are often the association's; the surface and what you put on it are yours. Dues should reflect which.

What is on the roof besides you? HVAC condensers and vents share the space on most townhomes. Ask where they sit and how loud they are. On ours the mechanicals are in one corner behind the parapet.

Is there water and power up there? A hose bib and an outlet make the difference between a terrace you use and one you photograph. Gas for a grill is rarer still.

What does the warranty say about the roof? Get the roof and membrane warranty terms in writing, separately from the general builder warranty, and ask whether they transfer on resale.

Ours

East 16th Street: 5 available, every terrace facing Uptown.

HomePlanBeds / BathsSq ftOutdoorPriceStatus
604 E 16th StEnd2 / 2.51,730500+ sf rooftop terrace$768,000Available Compass
616 E 16th StEnd2 / 2.51,356Private rooftop terrace$614,900Available Compass
610 E 16th StInterior2 / 2.51,337Private rooftop terrace$591,000Available Compass
612 E 16th StInterior2 / 2.51,337Private rooftop terrace$591,000Available Compass
614 E 16th StInterior2 / 2.51,337Private rooftop terrace$591,000Available Compass
606 E 16th StInterior3 / 31,697Private rooftop terraceSold at $741,000Sold
608 E 16th StInterior2 / 2.51,337Private rooftop terraceSold at $591,000Sold

Questions

How much does a townhome with a rooftop terrace cost in Charlotte?

As of October 14, 2026, new and recent rooftop-terrace townhomes listed for sale in Charlotte run from about $399,000 to $865,000. The low end is three-bedroom plans near Camp North End and in NoDa where the terrace is standard or optional and the view is partial; the high end is Elizabeth. Our East 16th Street homes are $591,000 to $768,000 with Uptown on one side of every terrace and the greenway on the other.

Which rooftop townhomes in Charlotte actually see the Uptown skyline?

Fewer than the listings suggest. A rooftop terrace is a feature; a skyline view depends on the lot, the height and what stands between you and Uptown. The skyline column reports what the listing or builder states, and 'Some homes' means it varies by unit. At East 16th Street every terrace has Uptown on one side and the greenway's green space on the other; the photo at the top of this page was taken from one.

Do rooftop decks leak?

They can, and it is the right question. A roof you walk on needs membrane, drainage and flashing that an ordinary roof does not. Ask any builder what membrane is under the deck, how the deck surface is held off it, where the drains and scuppers are, and what the warranty covers. Ask us the same questions about ours.

Who maintains a rooftop terrace, the owner or the HOA?

It depends on the community's declaration. In many townhome associations the HOA insures and maintains the roof membrane while the owner maintains the deck surface, furniture and plantings on top of it. Read the covenants before you close; the answer changes what your dues cover and what a special assessment could look like later.

Rooftop terrace, roof deck, rooftop patio: is there a difference?

No. Builders and listing agents use all three for the same thing: a private, usable outdoor space on the roof of the home, reached by a stair or a door from the top floor. We say rooftop terrace here and roof deck on our plans. Both mean the same 400-plus square feet.

Contact

Want to stand on one?

Tell us which day and whether you have an agent. Evenings are when the skyline is the point.